Cappuccino Cupcakes

by playingwithflour

I absolutely love the smell of coffee but I just don’t enjoy the taste. I could spend all day in a coffee shop but put a cup in front of me I wouldn’t drink it. Baked into something sweet and delicious however, that’s another story. These cupcakes are wonderful. As you bite into them you experience an amazing aroma that pairs perfectly with the sour cream frosting. They’re light but satisfying and have a great crumbly texture.

I was lucky enough to be invited around to a neighbours house for dinner the other night and these were a really quick recipe to bake and bring along for dessert. You can alter the quantities of espresso powder and vanilla to taste but the flavour is quite strong already. The frosting is delicious and creamy and one I will use in the future as it makes a good alternative to buttercream.

I’m not sure what it is about coffee that I don’t enjoy. Possibly the bitterness, but even mild brews don’t get me excited. I think I’m going to have to continue baking coffee flavoured treats to build up my enjoyment so that next year when I’m working ridiculous hours I’ll be able to drink it to keep me going!

For anyone wondering, I got these cupcake moulds from my sister who found them in a market in Melbourne. You can buy them in cake shops and homewares shops too. They’re made of silicon and can be baked in and are just super cute and fun to use!

Cappuccino Cupcakes

125g self raising flour
125g unsalted butter, at room temperature
125g caster sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp instant espresso powder
2 tbsp milk

Preheat the oven to 180° and prepare your baking cases.

Cream the butter and sugar in a large bowl then beat in the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla, baking powder and espresso powder and mix well. Add the flour in batches until all combined. Stir through the milk.

Pour the mixture into prepared baking cases and bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden and a skewer inserted comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

Sour Cream Frosting

170g white chocolate
60g unsalted butter
120g sour cream
300g icing sugar
½ tsp cocoa powder

Melt the butter and chocolate in a large bowl over a pan of simmering water. Allow to cool slightly before adding the sour cream and stirring through. Gradually add the icing sugar and beat well until the frosting is smooth. Sift in the cocoa powder and beat to combine.