Ginger Crumble Cookies

by playingwithflour

Tasmania is a beautiful place. Peaceful and quiet, it almost feels isolated. The locals however are friendly and accommodating and I feel like I’ve been living here forever. We’re lucky enough to have a simple place to stay that is right on the beach and only a five minute walk to my placement. We’ve spent the last few days driving around the south of the state, enjoying local fresh produce and stopping at every market and road side stall we came across. I’m honestly not sure I ever want to leave!

The cabin we are staying in is very basic but comfortable, but unfortunately doesn’t have an oven so there hasn’t been a lot in the way of baked goods over the last couple of weeks. I made these cookies before I left so at least I have something to share with you.

Full of ginger flavour, firm on the outside and soft in the middle, these cookies are great for afternoon tea when you need a pick me up. The ginger crumble sprinkled on top gives an extra texture and some added flavour. Next time I think I’ll add chopped macadamia nuts to the crumble also or even some crystallized ginger. It can be hard to tell when these cookies are done, they do puff up while they are cooking and then settle down again. I found once they had settled a bit and we’re golden brown they were perfect.

Thanks again for your patience, I do miss writing here but with very limited internet access it is hard to do. I have been finding inspiration for new treats to try out once I return home though, so I promise to make it up to you!

Ginger Crumble Cookies

2 oz unsalted butter, melted
3 tbsp golden syrup
100g brown sugar
1 egg
150g plain flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp mixed spice

Preheat your oven to 170° and prepare two baking trays with baking paper. In a large bowl mix the butter, sugar, golden syrup and egg. Sift in the remaining ingredients and mix well.

If you find the batter too dry you can add a small amount of water until the batter forms a soft dough. Roll out tablespoons of the dough and place separated on the baking sheet. Press down lightly with your fingertips then sprinkle over some crumble topping.

Crumble Topping

20g unsalted butter
2 tbsp plain flour
1.5 tbsp rolled oats
1.5 tbsp brown sugar

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix together with your fingertips until coarse. Sprinkle over prepared cookies and bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden. Allow to cool on a wire rack.