Walnut Streusel Mini Cakes

by playingwithflour

So I owe you all an apology, I had not intended for there to be such a long break between posts. After travelling to Tasmania for my last university placement I had planned to come home and get back to life. Instead, I took a spur of the moment trip to Malta to experience the country my mother’s family is from. For the last week I have been off exploring ancient cities and ruins and meeting relatives I did not know I had. It has been absolutely fantastic and the best part is that I’m not even half way through.

Before I left, in the few days I had at home, I did spend some time in the kitchen and one of the things I made (to give as a thank you present to my wonderful neighbours who looked after my cat while I was away) were these walnut streusel mini cakes. A fragrant and moist coffee cake topped with sweet and crunchy walnut streusel and drizzled with an espresso glaze, these cakes are delicious. They smell fantastic while baking and are the perfect size for afternoon tea. You could make them in a larger loaf pan or even as cupcakes if you prefer, just adjust the cooking time accordingly.

I have a couple of other recipes up my sleeve to share with you while I am away and I promise not to wait as long before the next post! That is, unless I get caught up getting happily lost on this incredible island…

Walnut Streusel Mini Cakes

1 tbsp instant coffee
130g unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
220g caster sugar
2 eggs
2/3 cup buttermilk
180g plain flour
40g self raising flour
¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda

Preheat your oven to 160° and prepare your mini loaf pans. Dissolve the instant coffee in ¼ boiling water and allow to cool. Sift flours and bicarbonate of soda into a small bowl.

Cream butter and sugar in a large bowl, add eggs one at a time until mixed. Stir in vanilla and buttermilk, alternating with flour mixture until combined, do not over mix. Fold in the coffee. Pour into prepared pans and top with streusel.

Walnut Streusel

60g raw sugar
60g brown sugar
130g unsalted butter, chopped
100g self raising flour
1 cup walnuts, chopped

Rub butter into flour with fingertips, then add sugars and walnuts. Stir to combine. Spread over mini cakes before baking. Bake for 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out cleanly.

Drizzle cooled cakes with espresso syrup. To make, combine 1 tsp instant espresso with 2 tbsp icing sugar and a few drops of water.