Lemon and Mandarin Madeleines

by playingwithflour

So Malta is amazing, although I have to say I didn’t expect anything less. I’m loving being a tourist and exploring some fantastic places and getting to understand all the history here. Unfortunately I’m in my last couple of days before heading home but I am looking forward to being back with my family and friends and to getting back in the kitchen.

When I was at a market in Tasmania I found this awesome tin. I had a few ideas of what I could use it for and one of those things was madeleines. I’ve always wanted to make them but I’ve never had a madeleine tin. I do understand that this isn’t a traditional tin but it is a similar depth and was definitely worth a try. Being the first time I’ve made these I’m not entirely sure they’re accurate but they do taste pretty awesome.

This recipe makes soft buttery sponge cakes with a lemony scent and they’re perfect straight from the oven. I decided to dip the cakes in a mandarin flavoured glaze to give them some extra sweetness and a bit of texture. I did find that after a while they became a bit dense and weren’t as enjoyable but they were still delicious with a cup of tea or coffee.

Some tips I found out while researching how best to make madeleines: make sure you butter your tin well (I used a pastry brush dipped in soft butter) and don’t overfill them. The longer you let the batter rest before baking the better, at least four hours is good, overnight is even better. Once you have filled the tins tap them on bench to get out any air bubbles and preheat your oven properly before baking. If the madeleines don’t come out of the tin easily use a toothpick or a spoon to help them out.

Lemon and Mandarin Madeleines

120g salt reduced butter
Finely chopped/grated rind of 2 lemons
3 eggs
100g caster sugar
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp golden syrup
170g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder

In a small saucepan melt the butter and then add the lemon rind. Set aside until the butter cools but not long enough for it to set. In a large bowl mix together the eggs, sugars and golden syrup on high speed until pale and fluffy (about 5 minutes).

Sift the baking powder and flour into the mixture and fold through gently. Add the butter mix in small amounts, folding through after each addition. Cover the bowl with cling wrap and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

Preheat your oven to 180° and butter your tin well. Spoon the batter into the moulds until 2/3 full and tap the tin on the bench to get out the air bubbles. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until golden then allow to cool before dipping in the mandarin glaze.

Mandarin glaze

Finely chopped/grated rind of 3 mandarins
100g caster sugar
2 tbsp water

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and heat gently until the sugar has melted. Dip the madeleines into the glaze and allow to set on a wire rack.